1st gen Muso vs surround amp

Hi all, hope everyone remains safe & well.
Just had to put this in writing:
Nap 200 over at class A for a service. Hooked up NDX & ATC scm 11’s to my Yamaha RX-V 767 (was using the AV on 202 for my ‘front speakers’). I pressed ‘pure direct’ to get the best sound - lasted 5 minutes before I turned it off to stop my ears/mind being offended any longer; couldn’t believe how poor it sounded (thank the lord it didn’t sound anywhere near as good as the naim gear - imagine the horror :joy:).
Moved the Muso from the kitchen into the lounge - oh yes! got the ‘naim sound’ back; contentedly listening to music again.
The point being: the muso is a damn good bit of kit!! (& surround amps are useless at producing music).
Stay well everyone :relieved:

Not all surround amps!

I once tried playing my quite expensive (around £2000) Anthem MRX700 surround amp, in stereo mode, into my NBL’s.
It sounded rubbish!

1 Like

I have no experience of Anthem amps, but a long time ago I had a Yamaha AV-1 (Gold) AV amp (£1,600 back in the 80s/90s) that sounded pretty decent in my system of the time - almost, but not quite on a par with my Audiolab 8000A. I used the Yamaha with a pair of Ruark Prologue One speakers back in the late 80s/early 90s.

I now have a Krell pre/power AV amplifier which has a stereo by-pass mode which completely by-passes the AV circuitry. It sounds very good as a stereo amp into Ruark Solstice speakers.

I have no doubt that some AV amplifiers are “useless at producing music”, as witnessed by your experiences with your Yamaha and Anthem AV amps.

I also have no doubt that one could achieve even better sound in my system by replacing the Krell with a very good stereo (or preferably dual mono) amplifier for the same amount of money, but that is beside the point. The krell amps serve me very well indeed as both an AV and stereo amplifier.