250-2 service?

A little early as I am still learning the sound of the recent upgrade. I will be sending the kit in for service starting with the 250-2. I have read through the threads but am now wondering whether to include a dr upgrade rather then just a service to standard 250 spec.
So specific to anyone who has been through the same process, what did you go for and how did you find it after a few months?

I bought a mint 250DR 2019 this year for 2000EUR. Considering the cost for DR and service I personally would sell the 250-2 and purchase a DR instead since it will save you a lot of money. Which one you prefer is the tricky thing though since some prefer the 250.2 and some DR.

1 Like

Well the DR upgrade turns it into a totally different amp. How that plays with your speakers is a gamble.

When I DRed mine, it broke the spell. Speakers matched for the 250.2 just didn’t sound as good on the DR. I changed speakers too in the end.

YMMV.

That is my thought process. If I am going DR, better to do it that way.

If money is not a particular problem, you could buy a used 250DR and then sell whichever amplifier you like least. Also if you decide to keep the 250-2 then you could get it serviced and then sell on the 250DR.

Best

David

Following on, and that is my fear. I like the sound I now have and don’t want to get on the upgraditis merry go round.

Indeed, I have made an offer on an unsold one on a popular auction site, unfortunately declined.

I had my pre-production NAP250.2 serviced and it came back sounding much better than when it left. However, not that long after, the temptation of a 250DR could not be resisted and it was a surprising step up in performance from the earlier amp, so very worthwhile I would say.