500 series replacement?

Hello everyone, I’m new to NAIM. My system is ND555, Mcinotsh ma12000 integrated amp with Sonus faber AMATI tradition speakes. I mostly listen to classical musics, I love my streamer, I’m considering to get a full 500 series and match with my ND555 before the price increase in Dec, but that’s a BIG investment, the 500 series is been out on the market for around 18 years , also 7 years after DR. I can see naim is focusing on UNIT, MUSO, and integrated. So my question is it still worth it to invest another $100000 to buy new 500, 552, cables+rack now? (There’s no demo from where I live, so I haven’t heard naim separates. And it’s really hard to find used 500, 552 in Canada ) Or I should be patient because the current 500 series will be replace in next year or 2 ? or even a 500 series integrated ? I will not want to spend a huge amount of money to buy them new and be replaced in anytime soon, so I want to make a smart move. Will like to hear what naim owners think, Thank you guys!

1 Like

Welcome to the Naim sound. Tread carefully, it can be overwhelming.

You are unlikely to get a definitive answer, because no one on this forum knows for sure and if they do they have they will not be able to reveal. So you will only get opinions.

My bet will be it is unlikely to be replaced in the timeframe you are referring to. Naim do not change their products frequently. Also, the cure of their products, pre amps, power amps and power supplies keep their value very well. Because the technology in there is the same as the original and very first amplifiers.

Unfortunately for you, it’s the streamers like ND555 are the ones that have been enhanced and the old one loosing. But, it’s safe to say the ND555 is relatively new and is unlikely to be replaced in the next few years.

All the very best in making the decision.

ASenna04

2 Likes