Access a CD library on Naim Uniti Atom

Hi. I’m new to this, so I have no idea where or how to ask this question.

Very simply, I have a collection of ca. 1200 CDs, mainly of Classical and Jazz music. I’ve recently purchased a Naim Uniti Atom and I’d like to use it to listen to my CDs.
I there a simple step-by-step guide that I can use to set this up?

I have available several Windows PCs and a couple of 2TB SSD discs. (My whole CD collections is already on one of the SSDs in WAV format.) In the past, I’ve used EAC for ripping and MusicBrainz to get hold of Metadata and Album art, but I can only use it on the Naim through the USB input.

This must be something that lots of people have already done. I just don’t know where to look! Sorry for being so dumb.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

IDiot

You should be able to plug the SSD disc into the back of the Atom and access the tracks - check the manual.

Manual doesn’t say much!
An alternative would be to run upnp server software like Asset or Minimserver on a PC. That would serve up your WAV files to the Atom.

That does work. But if having plugged it into the USB input, instead of selecting the USB input in the app you select the “Servers” input instead and then “Local Music”, you should see all of the music in a more user friendly way. But being WAV, you may not be able to see the album art.

1 Like

Hi GavinB
Thanks for the very quick responses.
I have plugged the SSD into the front USB port. This allows me to see my library, disc at a time with no playlist facility. WAV files don’t support much in the way of metadata, so this is the route I was trying to avoid. Is there another type of port (i.e. not USB) in the back - I can’t easily see it at the moment?
Now, MinimServer is the piece of advice I was looking for! Do I need to run everything through EAC and MusicBrainz again before adding MinimServer? I’m retired, so there might be time available!

Hello DavidHendon