Active NAP250DR x 3 or NAP500 single passive?

I suspect I may be treading a well worn path here, but I have an itch to scratch and would welcome opinions and valid pros and cons.

I run Kudos Titan 808’s active with 3 x NAP250DR plus Snaxo/Supercap, vast amounts of cables and sources a fully loaded LP12, ND555 with two PS555s and and NAC 552/PS 552 (forgive me if I have some 5’s and 2’s mixed up, I think you get the picture)all in about £150k. My musical taste is vary wide from Bach organ, Baroque choral works, through Mozart, Bruch, Brahms to all and any rock from about 1960 onwards and my listening room is about 5.5m square with high ceilings.

Why do I ask for your opinions? During the auditioning of the Kudos and many other speakers the 500 was the main power amplifier used as few dealers have a full active rig any longer and I was impressed with the sound. However I have been running active set ups for 30 years or so and have always found they sound better, go louder, deeper, have greater precision and involvement… (have I missed a superlative?) and although unable to make a direct comparison between my current set up and a single 500 my ears said ‘active better’ my brain said ‘costs the same’ and my wife said ‘how many more boxes can we fit in the room?’ (See picture). The dealers said active, so choice made.

So for what it is worth I opted for the active set up. I am unlikely to change this any time soon (or move to 3 X 500) but I cannot help but wonder, has anybody gone the other way, or are you thinking about it?

1 Like

I personally preferred the nap500 to 3x 300 with your speakers……but it is really a personal view……both are very good.

4 Likes

Congratulation to your decision going active. We both have the same active setup and I have a dealer where I had the option to listen to the 808 in passive mode with a NAP 500. I wouldn‘t swap from active to passive.