Active to passive

Well i have been running active for well over 10 years
Firstly with a 82 and 250’s and sbl’s.
Then with a 52, 3 250’s and S600.
Very happy with it i was until i stared listening to a freinds system (colin)
So a nds/555 joined in and rega P8 and it was ok, but not really as good as it should be, so i borrowed colin’s 552 (yes we all remember that journey lol) and yes in the end i made the jump myself to a 552, better, yes but when i borrowed a ND555 to try and couldn’t really hear much difference, alarm bells started to ring in my head.
So since then i have been trying to find the main problem, i was so hung up on active that i didn’t really want to change much as the costs just go through the roof, but after many chats and demonstrations with paul (hifi lounge) we came to a big decision that moved my system on.
Big change needed and a big leap from me, so out with my 3 old olive amps, S600, snaxo and supercap and in with a 300dr and pmc fact 12’s.
A very different system and very different sounding, yes i guess i could have stayed active and gone with more 300 amps, but my main problem was the speakers, they were just to big for my room and placement just made things 10 times worse, so yesterday i picked up the pmc’s and connected them to the nicely warmed up 300dr, put my favourite ripped track on the melco, sat back and hit play.
Well i was god smacked quite simply, the clarity, detail and just speed difference was massive, even my wife said god that sounds much better, i have since been going through my favourite tracks and can hear stuff that i have never before on my system, i can’t actually believe it.
Not saying passive is the way go, but sometimes you need to try other things, i had sort off buried my head in the sand with active, as i had done it for so long, but so glad i was talked into going down this road.