Allen Boothroyd

According to the Hitchhikers Guide to Meridian, another of the greats of British Hifi has departed.

2 Likes

Yes, I head that too. Some of his designs were quite outstanding, in terms of form & function.
Still have a Meridian 200 CD Transport connected to my NDS.

I would of met him with Bob Stewart at a hotel Hi-Fi Demo on the D6000 tour in 1991 in South Manchester (Stanleylands, Wilmslow). Such passion and excitement.

RIP Allen.

1 Like

IIRC I fancied some Meridian active speakers - heard at the Sound Org late 1980’s. Then I was seduced by Naim - Roger’s fault.

1 Like

That’s sad news indeed. When I was a poor student in the 1980s it was a dream to own some Meridian kit, it was just so beautiful, and that was before I even listened to it. I owned a Meridian CD transport (203) and DAC (606) in the early 1990s, before I discovered Naim, it always sounded great to me and never gave me any problems, but I was seduced by a CD2 in the end. Still always admired Meridian, and particularly remember an amazing demo at a show at Heathrow where a solo choirboy’s voice was played on a multichannel system, which caused a real shiver of the fur.
Allen will be much missed.

2 Likes

Yes, a good mate from school days, has a pair of 8000SE Ruby, one of just 40 pairs, collected from the factory - I get to listen to every so often - pretty impressive.

‘Proper’ Multi-channel music was interesting, but didn’t really catch-on, was it the availability of content (DVD-A, SACD format war) or that each channel needed to equal quantity (over a 5.1 HT solution, where front & rears could be lesser than the front 2-channels) or the domestic configuration didn’t work (given we already have to fight for the presence of racks, cables & speakers - “is all that necessary?”, “does that have to go there?”, “what have you bought now?”, “can it be in a different colour?”, “can I move that rug/couch/chair/table/speaker?”)