Any advice/recommendations on this setup please?

Hi everyone

Wondering if I can call on the forum’s expertise as to whether my network/cabling is as optimum as can be. Been reading that ideally the switches should be kept away from the hi-fi kit but if I was to do that, that would mean a bunch of long ethernet cables trailing round the room which wouldn’t look great.

I was planning on getting another switch maybe, and having that run off the Cisco 2960 (with another AQ Cinnamon) and then the NDX off that using existing AQ Cinnamon but wondering that’s really necessary. And yes, the AQ cables made a positive difference to these ears (let’s not go there).

Any advice or pointers would be gratefully received. I’m a total novice on this front and it’s a miracle that I’ve been able to produce any sound at all.

1 Like

Hi Catcat, your network looks to me to be pretty well OK & I’m not sure any changes will do anything better.
I don’t believe another switch will do anything positive.
I’ve not read/heard that having a switch close to the audio is detrimental, I don’t buy it personally, can you show where I can read up on that please.

1 Like

Why do you need two switches?
Cisco 2960 should have more ports than one could ever need at home…

I would run all the network components off one switch to make life easier and reduce on a number of connections.

1 Like

Because I don’t know what I’m doing :slight_smile:

I think I started off following the schematic here http://www.the-ear.net/review-hardware/audioquest-ethernet-cables-pt2-ethernet-cable

Looks good to me.

1 Like

Hmm I may have misread something in the archive, but will post if I can find it. What I 100% did read though was a Hifi Critic article where they put isolation feet under a Cisco 2960 :slight_smile: Personally there’s only so far I’m prepared to go.

Thanks for advising the set-up looks ok - good to know.