ATC SCM19 Speaker Review

A nice and detailed review of the ATC SCM19 bookshelf speakers.

If you put those on a book shelf I would ensure it is reinforced and it is extremely deep… they are about 30kg a piece and are large. They are monsters for stand mounts… in fact I don’t think we have any book shelf in our house that is anywhere near large enough or strong enough for the SCM19s. You need to use strong and sturdy stands.

1 Like

I guess qualifying these speakers as stand mounts would indeed have been more appropriate/precise :grin:

They look really interesting, especially the midbass drivers.

1 Like

They are good, but they are monitor speakers, so at their best in my opinion for near field listening.

Hi everyone, newbie here in this forum. I am keen to find out more about ATC 19/20. My system is Naim 52/135, and room size is 3*5M, wondering if either is a good match and what are the main difference between 19/ 20?

1 Like

Hi mkng,

Welcome to the forum.

ATC speakers seem to offer a brilliant price/performance ratio, and are very interesting from a technical perspective.

Unfortunately I have no experience with ATC speakers.

@Simon-in-Suffolk and others could be of some help.

They are interesting examples of a trend in speaker design towards small bass drivers and small enclosures (though, as @Simon-in-Suffolk says, not small mass) but without much compromise in quality. Not too long ago, any speaker that size wouldn’t be good for anything but the most casual/budget purposes, but now several manufacturers seem to be able to laugh in the face of physics and get rather good performance - particularly at the lower-end - from quite tiny boxes and drivers.

That said, I’ve only read reviews and opinions, not heard any in the flesh.

I have always like these speakers … unfortunately my room is just too small … that 800mm stand off means using these in large uk rooms … but they are superb.