Atom and Supernait 2

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post and I’m very new in NAIM and Hifi.

I find a good demo product of ATOM and a second hand supernait 2. All are good but in seperate locations, so could not test them together. I have B&W 683 S2 floorstanding speakers and I thought that Atom is not enough to drive alone. I want to connect my tv with hdmi to Atom and connect Atom pre-outs to supernait2 AV input. Is it possible to control volume from TV remote? I read Supernait supports volume control over av input(not tested).

If the Atom doesn’t have enough power to drive your speakers, a power amp would make more sense than an integrated. I would look for a 200 or 250. Or just get a Nova that has the extra power built in.

He already has the SN2 Chris…

I’m not sure that he has, but if so, my suggestion would still be to sell it and get a separate power amp or a Nova.

Well, I don’t have either of them. Atom and SN2 are secondhand with additional 1 year guarantee and very very very cheaper than brand new ones. I wish I can buy 200 or Nova but, it’s imposible for now.

It makes no sense to buy an Atom and a Supernait 2. No sense whatsoever. There is no point buying size 42 shoes just because they are cheap if your feet are size 44.

If you get the Supernait, find a used NDX or ND5XS2. If you want a Uniti, get a Nova.

3 Likes

Those are big speakers, very big - I would say you would be much better off with a Supernait than an Atom. Is there any phono stages out from the TV or better still a digital output , if so I would purchase a small DAC . I have used a small Pro-ject DAC for many years with the video system and have not been unhappy with the results.

I would also say that the Atom and 200 NAP are a well regarded pair on this forum.

This.