Ballet, anyone?

I did a search for threads with ballet in the title and came up empty. Then I had to decide whether to start one in Padded Cell or Music.

I’m looking forward to returning to New York City Ballet this fall. I have a subscription. First up, I’m taking my niece and her oldest daughter to an evening of three short ballets:

Serenade - arguably City Ballet’s calling card, set to Tchaikovsky’s Serenade in C. It was the dance that first captured my interest. Choreography by Balanchine.

Pulcinella Variations to excerpts from the Stravinsky work. It’s relatively new, and I’ve never seen it. Choreography by Justin Peck, who is doing the Spielberg West Side Story

Glass Pieces to music by - you guessed it - Philip Glass. This is a crowd pleaser (believe it or not). It’s also my fourth viewing, and I do wonder if it will wear out it’s welcome for me. Choreography by Jerome Robbins, who did the original West Side Story.

The NYCB orchestra has improved under the direction of Andrew Litton, although admittedly, I don’t think he actually conducts that frequently.

When I subscribed, I had no fear of attending an indoor performance. The last two weeks, have raised some doubts. I’ve gotten the Moderna vaccinations, and I plan to wear a mask. Still, a lot can change between now and September 25.

1 Like

I really enjoy some ballet music (e.g. Tchaikovsky), and have twice gone to see full ballet performances to give the medium a try, however I simply don’t get it. The dancing doesn’t tell a story for me, and I was left thinking it is nice to hear the music live, but otherwise visually only interesting in one case in terms of watching dancers wearing such thin, skin tight clothing that it was almost like watching naked people! There was a TV documentary about production of a ballet a year or two ago that I watched and found very interesting and made me want to see the performance, but then when it was shown it again did nothing for me.