Basic streaming help

Hi i’m new to Naim having given up on my Sonos set up.

I’ve got some basic questions (emailed Naim 6 days ago and still no repsonse)

• does it need to be on Wi-Fi/cabled if i am just using Tidal or Spotify on my iphone ? Or is this option for streaming locally stored music only (and software updates)
  • If i do need WIFI, the extender is only 10ft away and i can get around 25Mbit/sec.
  • I have subscribed to tidal masters but playback is glitchy, my phone will play it fine initially but as soon as i try and select another song manually it loses connection to the QB and plays it through my phone. Also, is there any point in in Tidal Master/HIFI over Airplay ?
    *would connecting my phone directly to QB solve this or is it still reliant on the speed of my WIFI/4G on my phone
  • The WIFI extender i have has the option of a hardwired cable so i could connect this to the QB

Hope someone out there can help, i think it sounds better than the sonos but the playback issues also remind me on my sonos experience.

MIke

To me since you mention playback issues on Sonos as well that this is likely a network issue with your wireless side. The QB has inbuilt Tidal which you control from the Naim app it sounds like your airplaying to it. If QB is wired then use Naims intrgration as it will use your wired network for playback. There is no need to airplay Tidal. I would avoid any extenders and look to get a decent WiFi setup such as the newer mesh systems. Extenders cause all sorts of issues with playback and device discovery.

2 Likes

Your Qb needs to be connected to Wi-Fi/Ethernet to stream to it from your iPhone using AirPlay.
The best quality playback is to add your tidal account via the Naim App so it will stream directly to the Qb rather than to your phone and then out to the Qb.