Beautiful melodious contemporary/ethnic jazz albums

Your reccomendations highly appreciated.
Thx.

recently enjoying anouar brahem’s oud - try blue maqams album with dave holland jack de johnette and django bates

3 Likes

Have a look at the ECM thread
 Sound Liaison also have some nice stuff

Have a listen to Shafer Youssef, who also plays the oud - and is self taught - he’s obviously a good teacher!
A personal favourite is Les Ondes Orientales, with Tigran Hamasyen on Piano and Marc Guiliani on drums. Worth a look on YouTube.

Hadouk trio comes to my mind
Randy Weston and the Ancestors

Omar Sosa
Remember Shakti
Renaud GarcĂ­a Fons
Pat Metheny ( in some kind)

1 Like

I’m a huge Afro-Jazz fan, not sure if this fits your ‘ethnic’ label.
Any afro-jazz regional genre does it for me, but as I lived there & have a lot of connections, South Africa makes up most of my collection.
Its not all beautiful or melodious, but most is easy listening & most important fun toe tapping dance inducing happy jammin’ musik

My first pick is a famous SA artist, Hugh Masekela, flugelhorn, trumpet & voice. In his early days he was living in (apartheid) exile & spent years establishing his own take on the SA jazz genre. However I would go for his 1994 album “Hope” a live recording at Blues Alley Washington DC. On this album he moves away from his normal jazz style & into the traditional mbaqanga (rural Zulu roots music) & some easy funk/jazz.
Second pick is an absolute must have for any Afro-Jazz fan, “Best of Papa Wemba”. Papa Wemba was from Congo & thats his music style, jazz influenced Congolese rumba, soukous & ndombolo. Yes its a ‘best of’, but if this doesn’t stir your toe tap muscles then you must be deceased.

1 Like