Benefits from the Naim forum

Hi, I have been using these forums for 6 months or so and in that time have moved from Myryad 2070 amp, Neat Motive 2 speakers and Marantz KI CD6000 CD player to NDX2/SN3/Kudos Titan 606, Roon/Tidal/Qobuz/ripped CDs/SACDs and tips on what albums to explore in a few steps thanks to 3 excellent Naim dealers and these excellent forums.
Unlike many, I feel that I am at the end of my journey and content to focus on the music.

The forums are free and therefore I can state that the contributions of many are invaluable.

What do others think?

How have the forums helped, or perhaps, hindered you?

11 Likes

I have learned a lot and hopefully, contributed and helped when I can.

6 Likes

It’s shown that I’m not the only one who is slightly mad when it comes to hifi. There is comfort in company.

12 Likes

I think there are several benefits from the forum.
It does offer a lot of technical support to people with issues and queries from a set of knowledgeable members who’re happy to help.
It does allow people to discuss possible upgrade paths with people who know Naim kit well (although with the divergent advice on offer I sometimes wonder if it clarifies or confuses :grinning:).
The music threads are a fantastic resource for finding new music and artists, and a place to have the occasional chat about music with people as committed as you are.
I also note that on quite a few threads about what music means, people are very open about mentioning very traumatic experiences in their lives, and the responses are always considered and supportive. It’s fantastic to have a culture where people feel that they can be open about personal pain in a hifi forum. It says a lot about the members, and is also a credit to @Richard.Dane who moderates with exactly the right level of control and friendliness to allow this atmosphere.

22 Likes