Best phono stage to use with Dynavector 10x5

I have a rega p3 with a Dynavector 10x5 cartridge playing through Naim phono stage N.

I understand the DV is a high output MC cart and it appears I may need a different phono stage. ( I think I had the N with previous TT which had a MM cart but honestly cant remember)

The problem is a total lack of gain when playing vinyl and I can only describe listening for any length of time as painful. I have therefore stopped using the system and am tending to stream via a bose bluetooth speaker which wjhile convenient makes my 900 plus vinyl collection redundant.

I spoke to a Naim dealer and he said the N phono stage was ok with the DV cart. But everything I read says not and I may be better with an E? Is using the N the source of the problem?

**Guys and girls when you reply can you just tell me which phono stage is most suited to the DV - I am not technical.

I am at the point of selling everything because it is just sitting there not getting used.

I live in Doncaster and if there is anyone local who would be prepered to help me out I have no issue with paying for their time, (hope this is allowed on the forum)

I have approached and used several dealers in the past who have just made me feel stupid through my lack of knowledge so wonā€™t be going down that route again.

Chris

1 Like

There are several people on here, myself included, running DV10X carts into Naim E boards.

In my view, its a very good combo. As a side bonus, the gain of the Phono input will then be much closer to that of the line level inputs, such as CD.

The Naim E board - both 323 and 523 - is essentially the same design, for S, K & E. So, as E boards are a bit rare, one option is to buy the appropriate S or K boards, and get them converted.

Hope this helpsā€¦?

(You donā€™t say what exactly you haveā€¦? This would not apply to a Stageline, sadly. )