Best practice to connect laptop hardwired to my Atom

Hi, apologies if this has been answered or if it’s very amateurish question, but I’m new to this hifi game.

What is the best way to connect laptop to my Uniti Atom 2. It was suggested by richer sounds that a 3.5mm audio jack to RCA would work but doesn’t seem to.

My goal is to play streams of live gigs through the amp and speaker set up rather than the laptop itself. The streams will be on youtube as well as privately hosted streams. I have both headphone 3.5mm jack and USB-C connections on my laptop. If there is a better way to do this via airplay or hardwired all recommendations welcome.

Ah, this may be a bit more complex than first appears. If you want to watch the gig on a hi-def TV as well, using the computer as a hub?

You don’t say what computer you have, the new MacBook Airs don’t have a USB port out . My guess the best way would be a USB C to USB adapter or cable, something like this

Tim, what computer are you using and which OS?

1 Like

Perhaps not at all what you want to do if there is no television involved but mentioning it as an option. On my Star I do this with HDMI from computer to the television and then HDMI ARC from the TV to the Star.

3 Likes

This may not be relevant to your equipment but my experience is if I cast a YouTube signal to our smart TV, the sound from the headphone output (3.5mm to 2 RCA is muted).

I suspect that if you watch YouTube on your device then the audio output through the Naim will work OK.

Your Atom is bristling with inputs and options. As others have already said, you need to tell us what computer you have and the OS. For instance my old 2014 MacBookPro has Optical out, through what looks like a standard 3.5 jack. It is a combination jack socket. Later models do not have these. So it may be helpful to be specific about the exact model of laptop you have. It may make a difference.

1 Like

WOW! Thanks everyone for the useful comments.