Biamping Question

Hi all,
May I know if anyone has issue on biamping for speakers? Currently I am using an XS2 for my ATC. Since I 'd like to drive my ATC a bit further, I am planning to get a Nap 100 for biamping. I have no experience in Naim electronics about biamping issue, whether it also need the same amplifier for this purpose, like other brand, otherwise it has the speed mis-match problem. Or no problem for Naim about biamping issue with different models? Thanks!

The gain is the same on all Naim amplifiers so you can absolutely mix and match Naim amplifiers for bi/tri amping.

The common consensus is that there is no benefit from biamping and I am sure you wil be told so many times in following comments. However, that stance does need to be qualified with “There is no benefit in biamping if a single amplifier is sufficient for the speakers.”

If the amplifier is not quite up to the task of driving the speakers on it’s own, and a more powerful Naim amplifier is cost prohibitive, then I think bi/tri-amping is perfectly acceptable.

However, you’ve not said which ATC speakers you have. The NAP100 isn’t that powerful. You would certainly want to put it on the trebble rather than the bass. I would have thought a a second hand NAP150 would have been a better partner with the XS2 or even a NAP200. In fact a NAP200 would give you multiple benefits. It would also power the XS2 pre-amp section.

Adding a NAP 100 is almost certainly going to be a complete waste of time and money. You’d be far better swapping the XS for a Supernait 3. One big one will beat two little ones. The Supernait 3 would be a much better match for your NDX2 in any event.

2 Likes

I assume this, and the OP, are referring to passive bi-amping, with crossover between speaker drivers happening through the speaker’s passive crossover. My own view of that is that any benefit is likely to be small, but if someone happens to have a spare amp there is nothing negative in trying.