Blending ‘old’ Classic/or XS boxes with the new 222 (and thereafter)

I’m not technical, I have no idea what powers the light in the logo of the black Classic/ XS boxes. As simple a swappable LED?

With the introduction of Naim’s new 222 etc with its white colourway lighting, might it not be nice if Naim were to offer a simple colour change for the Classic/XS logo from green to white, as a potential service to customers who want/have to blend pro tem, because (say) budget doesn’t permit the whole 222/250 leap all at once!

To think, once upon a time, Naim old Naim offered to re-fascia cb 250s and 135s (etc) as olive, and later olive re-fascia’d to Classic, and even now (I’m led to believe) Naim new Naim can by butchery reconstruct long over-the-hill types CD mechs if there’s a spark left…

A simple logo colour change seems (to non-techies like me) to be a far more easily achieved thing in principle, so that if there are none left in the parts bin, would even be worth the very modest outlay of a re-run of the plastic logo insert…

I have the 222 and 300 less turned down to the lowest setting and don’t really take much notice of the difference in colour between them and my 250DR. I also think it could be expensive and possibly technically a challenge to change from green to white, requiring a return to Naim or the change. When I mixed CB and Olive shoe boxes I never really worried about the difference so maybe I am less concerned about this than most are.

1 Like

There was more too it, but Yes to the CB to Olive conversions. I have 2 of them. Never heard of Olive to Black conversions - @Richard.Dane ?

Another easy swap was between Red & Green LED’s, on CB units.

There were some Olive to Classic cosmetic updates. It was a lot more involved than the CB to Olive cosmetic update and so was rather costly to do.

1 Like