Bookshelf Speaker Recommendation

I’m new to the forum so thanks in advance for the support…
I intend to move from my B&W 804 D3 Floorstanders to a high end bookshelf speaker. Nothing exotic or large but synergistic with Naim and will not use subs. I have extensive experience with B&W and Harbeth so don’t intend to go that route.

Current system is 272/XPS-2/300 DR and room is large 15 x 20 and most of the time these will reside close to the wall on a bookshelf BUT I will pull them down to target stands for critical listening from time to time.

Thanks

2 Likes

Easy, proac tablette 10 signatures.

An excellent Speaker is the PMC twenty5.22i

They would fill your room, bass Control is superb, worth a demo

It would be helpful to see a picture of your room to better understand positioning options. Many bookshelves are higher up so the speakers can sit beneath. You want the tweeters at ear level. Moving them between bookshelves and stands, including getting the stands out and putting them away afterwards will be a total pain in the backside and I’d avoid it if at all possible. Bookshelf speakers never sound best on bookshelves and need good stands. You have lovely electronics so why limit sound quality through poor placement? If the speakers could fit on stands beneath the shelves you can get great sound and no hassle. Is that possible?

You nailed my challenge HH- the lowest shelf places the tweeter slightly above ear level from the listening position AND the stands just aren’t practical long term- I tried the Wilson Duette 1 which was a complete disappointment so now have narrowed it to Joseph Audio Pulsar and Dynaudio Heritage or perhaps the Special 40- also have been a proac fan for years and will look into that as well as the PMC’s
thanks and will post a photo of the room this evening

Thats a pretty large room if measurement is Mtr.?