Can I use the 272 as a preamp for the NDS

Hi everyone. I am new to Naim and super went down the rabbit hole over 2 weeks ago. Background story: I bought an Atom then got a deal on a Nova. The I was on the forums and saw that pairing a 250 to either makes a difference. So I got a 250.2 for the Atom and a 250DR to the Nova. This all worked out well but then I saw a 272 for sale and saw that people said that it is way better in sound. I am waiting for it to be delivered. Then I saw a super deal for an NDS with 2* 555PS DR. I am waiting for that.

Now I thought that I can play the NDS like the Nova through the 250DR but was told that I needed a pre amp. There goes the all in one box idea and am now getting into a complete sounds system. But the thing is that I am not sure what to do because I only stream (Tidal and Internet radio) and use my RME UCX that is connected to my computer for Youtube and games and thought that I can just connect this all to the NDS. But I guess I can’t? Or at least I wouldn’t be getting the best SQ if I was using the digital volume.

So question is can I use the 272 just for the volume control and use the NDS for all the audio processing? Thanks in advance everyone.

You can use the 272 just as a preamp but you would be best trading it for a dedicated preamp, which will perform much better. I would look at something like a NAC282 with a HIcap as a minimum here…

As a temporary measure before getting yourself a dedicated preamp, you could get the best out of the 272 by using the NDS with a single 555PS and using the other 555PS (with suitable Burndy cable) on the 272.

6 Likes

What a mess! If it’s not too late, cancel the NDS and 272, stop reading stuff on the forum and find a decent dealer who can offer you proper advice and demos. You should end up with a system which actually works, is well balanced, and is enjoyable to listen to. It’ll probably save you a load of money too.

1 Like