CD for Naim Atom

Hi everyone,

New member as of today. I’m gonna be getting the Atom soon. I just wanted to hear your thoughts on linking a Cd player up to it?
I’ve got quite a big collection of cds that I still wanna be able to play. I’m on Ebay currently looking at loads of older cd player models that are going for between £10 - £30 the kind that would have been £200- £400 10 or 15 years ago. If I link one of these up via optical out to one of the digital inputs on the Atom will that be ok or is there anything else that needs taking into account ?
I’m also thinking of linking up a turn table such as the Rega Planar 1.
Any thought or advice would be really helpful for this novice here!
Thank you :slight_smile: :smiley:

Nothing wrong with connecting a cd player via optical.
Dont forget that the Planar 1 will also require a suitable phono stage which you connect between the turntable and the Atom analogue in sockets.

Thanks Raym,

Does it need an analogue to digital or digital to analogue one?
is there a phono stage you would suggest on a budget?

The turntable is all analogue, no digital equipment needed.
You connect the turntable to the the phono stage then connect the phono stage to the ‘analogue in’ on the Atom. There are many phono stages out there, just look around and pick one that suits your budget and does what you want either new or used.

You first need to make sure the CD player actually has digi out; not all do. But TBH if you want to play CDs the Atom deserves more than a basic CD player. A transport such as a Meridian 200 would probably serve it better.

Alternatively, if you’ve got a computer, you could rip CDs to a it and put a server on it. Or rip to usb drive and play that via Atom’s usb input. All these options are likely to give you better SQ than using a basic CD player. Though cheap by Naim standards, the Atom is capable of excellent sound but to achieve that you do need a source of commensurate quality.

Roger