CDs that just won't rip

Hi,
I am relatively new to streaming audio where typically I rip WAV files using an oldish version of dbPoweramp installed in an oldish desktop PC with DVD drive and transfer them to the SSD that is embedded in an Auralic Altair G1. Most of the time this works very well without any issue.
I have 4 sets of CDs from warner classics or Teldec and one set I could rip the other 3 whatever I try refuse to rip. Maybe copy protected?
Maybe the simple answer is that I just have to live with fact.
Has anybody had similar issues like this? Maybe I just have t play the CDs and that’s it.

If they have a large number of tracks/length of the recordings they may be outside of cd red book guidelines and your dvd drive may be unable to read them. I had this on very few discs, but were compilation albums. I did have a copy protected version of hats by The Blue Nile which was released by mistake…….playable on a cd player but would not rip. It was replaced by record company, as it was not a cd……as defined by the cd red book.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. Ok that’s possible. They play perfectly on the Marantz CD 67SE which i use as a transport with dig. out into the Auralic. Also no problem on the CDS3. I need to invest in a new drive anyway to see if that helps.
These are compilation albums of Haydn works. I particularly like the Haydn symphonies with Harnoncourt. The late London symphony compilation rips no issues but the one with earlier symphonies not. I will try to contact them and ask if they can be replaced.

It might be that these rippers/ dvd drives use cheap mechanisms……i sent cd’s to Naim that would not ripon on my Uniti core……they ripped using a better ripper and burned a cdr. The naim and Marantz cd players use better mechanism’s.

1 Like

Interesting. Thanks for the information. I will also my dealer what he thinks

1 Like