Cisco Switch Connection Question

I have been using an 8 port Cisco 2960 switch for around 6 months, with no issues. When I received it I connected it up in a similar way to my previous BT switch as shown below. However I saw a picture posted somewhere on this forum that had an Ethernet cable connected into the far right port which I have question marked.

As a result I tried connecting my internet connection to that port, without knowing if this was the correct thing to do, as shown below. All still works with no issues but I wonder which is the correct connection method as I cannot find any guidance on the web. Can anyone help with this?

Stick with what you had in the first place. It’s fine for what you are doing.

1 Like

That’s what I suspected. Cheers HH.

The dual purpose port on the right is normally a GB port, whereas the others will only be running at 100MB. So your current configuration is probably the best, if your connection to the router is the busiest. Of course, if you have a slow ADSL service, this may not be the case.
Other than that, you can use any port you like for any connection.

Edit: I’ve just noticed that the switch in your picture is a 2960G, in which case all the ports are GB, so the above may not be relevant?

The generally accepted thing to do is to connect as per picture 2. Connecting to WWW (router/modem?) via the uplink port. Which according to your picture can be either cable or optical.
All the others are referred to as downlink ports.
As mentioned previously though, it makes little difference for your application. Either way will work.

1 Like

I have two 2960G gigabit switches. I use port 8 to link the two together, but it really doesn’t matter. You can plug into any of the 8 ports.