DAC V1 - left channel only - thoughts/advice please

Greetings all!

maddening!!$%! - i am new to streaming mostly vinyl and cds - but i got a hold of a DAC v1 and a mac mini. i am in the initial set up process / pre- bit perfect confirmation. i have itunes (for now - plan to upgrade to audinirvana) playing on the mac mini and am using the USB port out to connect to the asynchronous USB in on the DAC v1. Information is flowing, i can see it on the DAC USB status screen.
The DAC v1 is connected to a NAC 82 via DIN.

Problem - left channel only plays music on the speakers.

When turn the balance on the 82 to the right - nada. All other sources are fine connected to NAC82 (cd/turntable). AND…when using the the headphone jack - BOTH left and right are fine on the headphones.

I am at a loss here - i don’t want to send the DAC back but i am frustrated…and i am only in the initial stages of setup.

thoughts very much appreciated…!!!

cheers
Mike.

Mike - At the risk of stating the obvious, have you checked the cable connecting the DAC-V1 to the 82 is Ok. I’d start here first if not.

James, thanks. I did think of that but I have not properly checked it. I will. I thought it may be a long shot - both ends are secure, etc. is that a thing? Do the Naim DIN cables sometimes go bad? admittedly this one I had laying around and it fit so I slapped in on there…

Any cable can break - can you substitute in another just to check. Are you going RCA > DIN or DIN to DIN ?

Its DIN to DIN. Hopefully I have another in my system somewhere that I can swap out just to check…that would be nice if it was that simple. I was mostly concerned there is something wrong with the DACV1. I can try the RCA outs too into another pre…just to see. Fingers crossed…will try later when I get home and report back

BTW - I REALLY appreciate your feedback and this forum. Thanks again.,.