dCS Lina and headphones audition adventure

Sharing the below as light subjective reading.

Today I had the chance to audition a lot of top of the line headphones on my own Rupert Neve RNHP ánd on the brand new dCS Lina Dac/Clock/Amp.

I have not read any dCS hype, nor any reviews on this pricey setup. Also, I have no experience to compare it’s performance to. My aim was to audition headphones and this amp just happened to be sitting there. It seems to do what it does very well and I was very engaged in the music, but I am not sure the headphones had more to do with that. The thought that stayed was that I was not blown away. However, it could be that I am used to my Nd5xs2 → 252/scdr → RNHP already being pretty well and I am reaching points of little gain for the higher expense. Also, vinyl blows me away, digital not as such.

Headphones auditioned (open back)

• Audeze LCD -x and 3
  • Audio-Technica ATH-ADX5000
  • HEDDphone
  • Hifiman Arya Stealth
  • Meze Empyrean
  • Spirit Torino Titano
  • T+A Solitaire P-SE
  • ZMF Atrium
  • ZMF Vérité

A close call between the ZMF Vérité, the Audeze LCD-3, with the T&A as a runner up. I will sleep on it, but currently I favour the ZMF for comfort, in combination with the RNHP and design.

5 Likes

I enjoy my ZMF Vérité closed backs with the modest Naim Atom Headphone Edition. Comfortable and not too heavy. The wood is attractive too. dCS Lina is well out of my price range, but it is interesting to hear reference systems and sometimes realise that they are not always astonishing. Comfort is the thing for extended listening on headphones. Thanks for posting.

3 Likes

Thank you. I had auditioned the Audeze earlier and was impressed by the sound, but not by the comfort. The ones I tried today were better, perhaps not all are built equal, but the ZMF sounded very nice as well, but were also very comfortable. You are right, in the end, comfort is very important.

1 Like