Elac speakers

Hi Naim comunity,
please apologies if I write basic English and therefore would appreciate basic answers concerning the language. :wink: Thx

I have an SN3 and a Rega Planar 6 and Bluesound Node 3 playing.

Now have the chance to purchase used Elac speakers which seem to be old but are said to still be unique.

Due to I am no professional I would like to know if they would match with my setup.

My living room is about 35 m2 and I would sit about 3-4 meters in front of them.

Thank you for your opinions to this speakers.

Best regards,
Wolfgang

1 Like

Elac is one of the brands, like so many, that are mostly limited to some countries, Germany in this case. They are well regarded here as a brand.

This model was a very good speaker in its time. In particular the 360 degree ribbon tweeter was very special and was said to provide a big stage and precise imaging. To work, it needs at least 75 cm to the wall behind the speaker, however, and the more space to the sides, the better. You have a good room size, so I guess you may be able to provide this.

Whether their sound characteristics meld well with the SN3, who knows, you have to listen. Based on the specs, the SN3 should have no problem driving them.

Thanks a lot for your appreciated info to this. I am. They would cost me about +/- 1.000€ and I also would have the Falcon Aria 936 or even 948 on my list - well, they would cost me more then double but brand new.

This Elac ones seem to be at least 10-15 years old I guess - you think?

Of course always good to try at home and listen but always hard to get it done. ;-(

Thanks a lot and best regards,
Wolfgang