Electrical discharge when turning off the amp

Dear Naim forum users,

lately I happen to experience a noticeable electrical discharge when turning my amplifier off (it doesn’t happen all the time, but I experienced it at least twice in the last couple of weeks).

Should this be a concern? Could my amplifier be damaged?

I’ve been using this amp (Exposure 3010 S2 D) for at least a couple of years and never had an issue like that.

Thank you very much in advance for any advice!

Maybe @Mike-B or Richard Dane can respond.
Sorry Mike, each time I see an electric problem, I am thinking of you.

2 Likes

Are you saying you get an electric shock from the amplifier?

1 Like

Thank you @frenchrooster

@Richard.Dane Maybe I didn’t explain it properly. This usually happens when I touch the volume knob, right before turning it off. I would say that it’s a an electrostatic discharge, (maybe?) calling that an electric shock is too much. I hope I made myself clear now. By the way I didn’t notice anything wrong with the amp, the sound is fine. Any thoughts?

2 Likes

It just sounds like a static discharge. You build up a charge as you move about and it discharges when you touch the volume control. Nothing to worry about with regards the amp.

Possibly the air is drier in your room at the moment, you’re wearing different shoes / clothes etc which are causing you to build up more of a charge than usual and the resulting discharge is more noticeable.

3 Likes

I would call it an (electro)static discharge as well. Normally I wouldn’t worry for such things, but as it’s been strong, I’ve been wondering if there’s something wrong with the whole system and been worried as the electronics could be sensitive to this. Somehow I should try to discharge before touching the amp.