First NAS what spec do I need for Hi-Res?

I’m looking to get my first NAS to take the pressure of my iMac and increase my capacity.

I’ve been looking at Synology DS215J and a QNAP HS 251+

This will be feeding an NDX. The QNAP looks higher CPU & RAM spec. But my question is how much spec do I really need ? I’m only looking to play hi res 24/96 Flac files. Will the Synology be good enough spec ? I have no experience in this :neutral_face:

I have a Synology DS214, its spec is
Dual Core 1.066 GHz
System Memory 512MB DDR3
This has more than enough to play 24/192kHz easily

The DS215j is very similar
Dual Core 800 MHz.
System Memory 512MB DDR3.

Once you get up & running & familiar with how it all works, consider changing media server software to Asset UPnP

Cheers Mike. Will plump for the Synology then, the QNAP did feel a little overkill for what I’d be doing. Plus from what I can tell the interface on the Synology looks more friendly too.

Upgraded to a Synology DS220 last year which has 2GB RAM as standard, but I fitted more RAM to run virtual machines.

Using Asset uPNP with several thousand albums without issue, including hi-res.

Plenty newer DS218 and DS220 on common shopping and auction sites, would recommend. Easy to setup storage and can backup any rips or downloaded music to cloud (we use Google cloud storage) via easy to use built in software and scheduling.

Even hi-res audio is a small CPU and network load (1 MB/s at worst) and any NAS can serve that. I have a 10 year old Qnap with an Intel Atom, no issues whatsoever.

1 Like

Nothing wrong with overkill with CPU power, but Synology is a good choice (IMO)
I help a disabled buddy with his QNAP & although its straightforward enough, I’m happier with Synology.