General system advice - next steps

Many thanks in advance for any wisdom or guidance on the following.

I recently bought a Naim Muso 2 for the kitchen and it’s my first Naim purchase. After running it in, I’m really pleased with it.

My main hi fi sits with my TV in my lounge and I’m unsure of the next steps. For CDs I use a Roksan Caspian player coupled with Roksan Caspian pre-power amps and a pair of PMC 23s. All of the above is probably 6 years old, give or take. I love the sound of this setup.

I’m new to streaming and would like to add a decent streamer to the main system. A few days ago I bought an IFI Zen Bluetooth streamer but it sounds dreadful through the above system and I’m unsure whether to buy a DAC for it, or get something better if it’s worthwhile?

I would also like to run my TV through my PMCs somehow, but I’m not sure how to do this. At the moment I only have a stand-alone sound bar with the TV, which is pretty poor. The TV isn’t connected to anything else. I’m scratching my head in terms of which way to go next and any general advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Dor,

Welcome!

The advice I generally give friends, which is difficult at the moment, is to find a decent dealer.

Go and listen to a top rate system, and then a middling system; these will be bounded by your proposed budget over the next decade.

The aim here is to determine whether you think an expensive journey is worth it to you.

I have many much more musical friends than myself, and NONE of them are interested in HiFi; they tend to listen to music in a more technical way. Only you can know what is worth it to you.

Knowing what your proposed landing point is will allow you to get ‘there’ in the most financially efficient way; as well as MOST IMPORTANTLY using the dealer to lend you potential equipment and listening to it in your room.

My experience is that buying second hand through dealerships is often no more expensive than other routes, and gives you a safety blanket.