Handy Tool for Vinyl

I’ve recently bought a few LP’s that have had an undersized spindle hole.
I noticed Clearaudio had a special tool for resizing such problem holes but baulked at the £40 asking price. A quick trip to the Bezos Bazaar and for under £7 I sourced the drill bit (7.3mm as per Clearaudio LP Drill specs) and the wooden tool handle. Works a treat!

4 Likes

I’ve been buying records for over forty years, and have never encountered an undersized spindle hole. Either I’m very lucky, or you’re very unlucky if you need one.

3 Likes

Same here. First LP bought in 1977. Have had 3 LP’s this year where the spindle wouldn’t come through the hole. I can only think of one other in the previous 43 years …

It will depend on the turntable. Some have spindles that are very slightly oversized and so the odd LP with a slightly smaller hole roll cause problems.

As an example I have found the spindle on some Garrard 401s can be quite a tight fit with some LPs.

The way this discussion is opening I wonder how many will wonder if the record sounds better on a tight or loose spindle.? :thinking:

3 Likes

Don’t be sceptical

Well, my Xerxes has a sprindle that can be removed once the LP is placed on the platter - it said to sound better this way, so I’d keep an open mind on this.

I do tend to agree with the looser fitting too.
As the record is supported by the mat to decouple it from the platter then I imagine a tight spindle might be a shortcut to the bearing.

Yeah, but only if you have a way of keeping the record centered. Any benefits from a loose fitting would be minor compared to the wow you’d get.

Many LPs are pressed very slightly off centre, so enlarging the spindle hole enables you to try to correct this. You then just mark the point on the circumference of the hole that should be closest to the spindle and an unplayable LP can become playable again. A fiddly and time consuming job though, but once it’s done it’s done.

1 Like