Headline headphone amp

Hi there and merry Christmas all. I’m new to naim having recently purchased a 180/102/Hicap to go with an LP12 and drive GB1 speakers. As a final push for now I want to get a headphone amp. I have HD600 headphones and am torn between hanging out for an olive NAHA1 to match my other kit - or going for the newer headline 2 for a supposed better improved bit of kit. Has anyone any opinion on this as to performance and what they would do in this situation ! ?? I’m a massive music fan and my second system - naim is all nee to me though. Just looking for thoughts and advice from experience. I hope I’ve posted correctly ? Cheers all

Mal

1 Like

For HD600s you should look for the Headline 2 as it’s better able to drive these headphones over the original.

1 Like

Don’t forget that you will need a power supply for the Headline. You’d also do well to get a Napsc for your 102 if you don’t already have one.

2 Likes

Also suggest you hear the naim headphone amp along with a number of others first. I previously had HD600s and found a tweaked MF X cans to do the job nicely for little money.
However, a decent headphone amp will make them sing.

1 Like

There is also the Rega Ear. No longer made, but I an sure pre-loved ones can be found… :grin:

1 Like

Yes I have one on my 102 ! Thanks for reply :+1:

Sorry… that HiCap will only drive one item - so your 102. Nothing else. You need another PS…

Thanks - that’s just the sort of response I’m after. You can go round in circles a bit on some forums! Cheers Richard

I recently upgraded my headphones to the new Audeze LCD 5 - a high end headphone and am still using Headline 2 powered by Hicap and it is still doing a great job. I think to considerably better this combo I would have to spend a fair bit of cash. So I think a second hand Headline/Hicap combo would be a bargain compared to what you would get new for the same sort of money.

1 Like