Help/advice needed. I think I may have wrecked my CD5X

I’m concerned that I may have caused some serious damage to my CD5X. I’m new to Naim, but over the last few weeks have built up a system comprising ND5 XS, CD5X, Nait XS, Flatcap XS and Neat Motive 2SX speakers. Up until today I’ve had the Flatcap powering the Nait XS only as I only had one set of leads. Earlier this week I ordered an additional used Naim 4 pin din off Ebay as I had a spare 5 pin din already.

The new cable arrived this morning so I switched everything off, removed the plug from the back of the CD5X connected the two cables and then connected the other ends of the cables to the signal out and power out B terminals at the back of the Flatcap XS.

When I turned everything back on there was a hum coming from the speakers which was getting louder. I quickly turned off the equipment and returned everything to the previous configuration. I then tried the ND5 XS which was working fine. However the CD5X seems to be operating mechanically (the display works as does the transport), but I can’t get any sound from the amp. I’ve tried swapping inputs, I’ve also tried a Din to RCA interconnect using the Din in the CD5X and then in the Nait XS, but what ever I try I can’t get any sound from the unit.

Does anyone have any idea as to what could have happened and things I could do to fix this issue?

Thanks,
Andy

Andy, it sounds like you have tried to connect a SNAIC4 to the link socket of the CD5x and then to the signal out of the Flatcap, when you should have used just a SNAIC5 to connect to the upgrade socket of the CD5x and the power out of the Flatcap.

Have you tried replacing the link plug to the CD5x and then power cycling. Also try cycling the output socket assignment.

Hi Richard,