Hot Uniti Star or is it just me?

I am very happy with my Uniti Star, but there’s one thing I don’t understand. Maybe every seasoned audiophile out there will know, shrug shoulders etc… (I am just starting out), but… is it normal that an A/B amplifier system like this stays really warm while in standby? I figured I would not bother Naim support with it, the FAQ says that the stanby consumption is >15W with a USB storage, ‘depending on the size’. Well, mine is quite large, 256GB, and the Star reaches 31 degrees Celcius in standby… Really that sounds like a LOT more than 15W. Don’t get me wrong, I would pay any electricity bill smiling for this great system, I am just wondering what circuits keep running to make it this warm (room temp at measurement was 22 degrees celcius) Any experts out there that could shed some light on this?

1 Like

Does it make any difference if it’s in “server mode”? I have mine as a server for access from a Revo radio and I’ve noticed the Star is warm. Not compared it with having the server off.

Thanks. I hadn’t thought of that one yet. I had unplugged the USB stick once, but that didn’t make much difference. Just switched off server mode, will check next morning.

I don’t think you have anything to worry about. There’s an awful lot of electronics crammed into that box, and Naim design the whole case to act as a heatsink, assisted by the fins on the sides, of course. The amp will warm up if you work it hard, but it’s the digital electronics that tend to run hottest, so that is probably where the heat is coming from, especially in standby. In my own separates system, the DAC is the hottest box, followed by the streamer, then the power amp.

My Nova can run pretty hot and will still be quite warm in standby with that room temperature. I think you can relax and enjoy the music :+1: