How often should speaker cables be replaced?

I have been using the NAC A5 cables for the last 28 years. Should I replace them?

1 Like

Nope, unless you notice actual signs of physical degradation (e.g., the sheathing is crumbling somewhere).

2 Likes

My NAC-A4 cables are now almost 40 years old…
Nothing wrong, no need to fix… :sunglasses:

3 Likes

Not so sure. Copper oxidises over time. In de long run - 28 and 40 years do qualify imo - that oxidation might creep into the conductors too. And copper oxidation is a very poor conductor. Ageing of this type goes very gradually so you tend not to notice. A fresh run might be a surprise.

Just a thought though…

1 Like

You could cut it a few cm in and see what it’s like if you’re really concerned about.

Not sure you can see that by just looking at the copper on the outside?

At first the speaker cable needs to burn in for 20 years, then it starts to burn out. I must make sure to listen to music on the one day it works :face_with_monocle:

22 Likes

Mine’s about thirty years old, no thoughts about changing it.

A friend was concerned when he heard I was using A5 when bringing over a pair of speakers to listen to. He bought over a few pairs of his favourites. Listened with the A5 and he just put his cables back in his bag.

3 Likes

31 years of age. When I was having system wide issues a friend with an identical length run of 1 year old A5 he no longer needed thanks to a house move popped round and we swapped them in and out. Mine were better.

4 Likes

Excellent question and something I have never considered. I am afraid I don’t know the answer either! So will read replies with interest.

I think that unless there’s signs of damaged strands or obvious oxidisation then you should be fine for many years.

1 Like

I always thought you were older.

2 Likes

How do you suppose it oxidises on the inside?

2 Likes