Improving Digital Noise and SQ

I’m new to the digital world of streaming and have to admit I’ve felt buried sometimes under the pile of new terms, new acronyms, and new gadgets with strange names that seem to be necessary for equipping and listening to a digital stream.

Currently I’m struggling to shop wisely for a power supply. I’ve learned that LPSs are mostly superior to SMPS for getting good SQ. (Notice there are three acronyms in that one short sentence and in the beginning I had to look up every one.)

Here are some purposes of a power supply which helped me get started:

A better power supply will reward you with:

• A lower noise floor
  • Tighter outlines and a more fleshed out sound
  • A much smoother, refined, and gradational sound
  • A more natural soundstage in both size and atmosphere
  • Improved timbre

But they aren’t really helpful when it comes to zeroing in on which one to start with. Would one from Uptone (for example) contribute to better SQ with opera or classical music, while one from Paul Haynes might be better with rock? Or looking at the problem from a different point of view, which one would be a better match with my Sonic Transporter and Audio Alchemy DDP-1 DAC?

How do you go about choosing a new “gadget”?

A better power supply will reward you with:

A lower noise floor
Tighter outlines and a more fleshed out sound
A much smoother, refined, and gradational sound
A more natural soundstage in both size and atmosphere
Improved timbre

Is there some objective evidence citing these things? Graphs and tables sort of thing.

Really? Are you sure? I’m not allowed a link, but if you do an Internet search for “Audio Myth - Switching Power Supplies are Noisy” then it may save you some unnecessary expenditure. I doubt you’ll get any of the so-called rewards in your list by changing the PSU. With one of your suggestions if you decide upon it then I would insist you try before you buy and do not pay in advance.