Is this illegal - or simply irritating and unacceptable?

No doubt someone on this forum will know the answer.
I sent a friend the URL of a car rental firm by text message. When I sent the text, an advert for that firm appeared below it (see attached photograph), and was sent, together with the text.
I consider this extrememely irritating, and an encroachment on my privacy - how can a firm be allowed to tamper with my text messages?
It’s the first time this has happened to me - can anyone tell me whether it’s legal or not?

I doubt it is illegal (but it of course depends on where you are – you don’t say). What phone/OS do you use? I have never had this problem with an iPhone.

You could contact the Information Comissioner’s Office if you’re in the UK.

Certain phones / os have a preview setting when you text a url.

3 Likes

I’m a French resident. I’ve been told the French equivalent of the ICO is CNIL.

It’s not an advert. When you send a hyperlink in a text it may show up as MMS (multi-media messaging) as opposed to SMS (short-message).
When it’s MMS you get graphics from the site of the hyperlink (similar to the one you have experienced).
There likely is an option on your phone to turn this off on your phone, but it’s not an advert. You’re just seeing a page from the hyperlink.

7 Likes

Thanks for your replies - as far as I’m concerned, it is an advert in all but name…

Yes and in iMessage in iPhones and WhatsApp and Signal, they all do the same (and in the Naim forum come to that).

You can prevent it happening if you just change the URL link in some way or stop the software from identifying that it’s a URL.

I will do that of course, but should this be allowed in the first place? Again, thanks for your replies, and there are more important issues, I suppose…