Kudos Titan 808. The new Isobarik?

I’m seeing a lot of love for the Kudos Titan 808 on the Forum at the moment. Seeing as the 808 shares some fundamentals with the Linn Isobarik I’m wondering if anyone has experience of both speakers and if the new imbumbent of the isobaric throne betters it’s forbare by enough of a margin to justify the not inconsiderable outlay. Performance aside, I like the looks, especially in piano black. I’ve also noted that some favour them in active mode with 3 Nap 250DRs, which, Snaxo aside, would be a straight swap for me.

3 Likes

I have no experience of the 808s unfortunately, but remember the isobariks well from 1979, along with my first Naim amps and a Linn sondek LP12. The bass extension was amazing, you could actually feel it through the floor! Wish I still had them today.

1 Like

You might want to discuss with Peter Swain at Cymbiosis. He uses the very system you would have (were you to replace your Isobariks with 808’s), to demo LP12 upgrades - albeit with a 552 rather than 252. Im sure he would be happy to slot in a 252 though. Never heard Isobariks, but have heard the 808’s at Cymbiosis - very impressive.
Given Peter’s long association with Linn I’m sure he can give you an informed opinion of the relative merits of Isobariks and 808’s.

4 Likes

I’ve heard both but years (many) apart. Hugely impressed by both but the gap in time would make any meaningful comparison impossible.

2 Likes

to me the Titan 808 are some of the finest speakers I have the pleasure of lisening too, I have just moved over to thier baby brothers

808 are easy to drive but IMO come into thier own when driven active, I know @Cymbiosis recently was active T808 with 3 x 250DR and the music was stunning

3 Likes