Linux sound output

I use a Linux computer as one source (ArcoLinux) and until quite recently this has been into a non-Naim dac or a Cambridge Minx Xi and worked fine.

A couple of upgrades later though and I have now a SuperNait 1 and a UnitiQute 1 and there’s silence from both devices, using a Toslink optical cable. The Naim app for the UnitiQute reports ‘Digital Signal Locked’. The UnitiQute has firmware 2.0 which I’m hoping to get updated soon.

As far as I can tell, and I’m not an expert by any means, the PulseAudio config is correct, but I must be missing something. I know Naim require a PCM stream, and my config reports.

; default-sample-format = s16le (PCM signed 16-bit little-endian)
; default-sample-rate = 44100
; alternate-sample-rate = 48000
; default-sample-channels = 2
; default-channel-map = front-left,front-right

Can someone help figure out what’s missing for this to work? Thanks.

2.0 is a very early firmware version from which it is not possible to upgrade to the latest.
I can’t see any obvious reason why this would prevent you from playing regular PCM stereo up to 24/96 although I know nothing about the Linux computer you are using.
As a test, can you copy an album onto a USB memory stick and see if that will play in the Unitiqute?

It might be the pcm format, what other options do you have available?
It’s not quite the same, but I have jriver upnp running on Linux, and the output format that works with my uq2 is pcm 24 bit. The L16 and L24 options don’t work.

I’ve only just got the UnitiQute, as soon as I can I’m going to get the firmware updated though I’m pretty sure this isn’t the problem. It’s the S/PDIF feed out of the computer I need to fix.

Thanks, I’ll try the 24 bit option. I didn’t think of that, I was looking for trying to make it like a CD standard.

As I mentioned above, Naim advise that a streamer running a very early firmware version can’t be updated, and if you attempt it you will probably end up with a defunct streamer.