Mac OS Catalina

Hi, I recently updated to Mac OS Catalina and my Mu-So speakers have disappeared from Airplay. Everything still works fine using the speakers via Airplay on my iPhone & iPad, but Catalina has lost them! The speakers appear in the ‘Home’ app, although I can’t do anything to make my Mac find them. Has anybody else found this, and/or can anyone advise me whether this is a "Naim’ issue, or a Catalina one?

Please be gentle with me, I’m not an expert in these things and this is my first post! Any advice gratefully received.

Andy

Hi Andy. I’ve heard so many complaints about Catalina that I’m holding off on the update. This is more of a thought than a suggestion: Naim just updated its app to Airplay 2. Could it be that you’re using the older version of Airplay?

Hi, I’m running Catalina on a newer Macbook Pro, and I have no problem using both my Atom and my Mu-So QB. Both are visible/accessible from within the Music app, as well as from the menu-bar at the top of the screen. I would expect that, if all units are connected to the same network, it should work as usual.

Not exactly related to airplay but I have not upgraded to Catalina as too many programs on my Mac won’t run on Catalina, including Word, which will try to force me into a monthly subscription to Office 365.
I refuse to pay for that subscription, as I paid for Word less than 2 years ago, I only use Word very occasionally and never use any of the other associated software.

1 Like

I have Word, Excel & PowerPoint running on Catalina without problem. However, I have found no benefit from this so called upgrade. It really is quite poor given Apple’s high standards IMO.

No support for 32 bit and some of my AppleScripts no longer work because Apple has renamed some things for the sake of it.