Mix Olive NAC72 and HC with NAP CB250

Hello,

I’m a newbie in this forum and have a question regarding an upgrade of my current system.
My setup is Olive 72/HiCap/140. I’m thinking about a bigger amp and replacing the NAP140 with a NAP250. But I’m uncertain if it should be an Olive or a Chrome Bumper. Does anyone has experience with a mixed setup like this. Or can you explain what the difference would be? My current setup sounds really nice but sometimes I miss a little bit more punch. For some music like e.g rock the sound could also be a bit warmer and less bright.

Looking forward to your opinion!
Alex

1 Like

There’s no reason why you shouldn’t mix and match between the ‘chrome bumper’ and ‘olive’ styles, other than aesthetics. Also bear in mind that older Naim equipment will need to be serviced, if it hasn’t been through this in the last seven to ten years.

Personally, I would find it difficult to keep the different styles in a system that I would be looking at every day, but that’s a decision for you.

Sonically, the older Naim equipment tended to sound drier, or leaner, but you will need to listen to what sounds best for you.

2 Likes

Back in the day I had a mix of olive pre plus psu and chrome bumper power amps

Take it from me, it works nicely. There’s nothing to worry about other than buying more music !

3 Likes

It also depends on what loudspeakers you have. If easy to drive, the Nap 140 may be the better amp.

1 Like

I have a mix of Olive, Chrome Bumper and Classic Naim boxes.

A 250 should be a significant upgrade over the 140. I have had a CB 250 and now have 2 x 135s.

My advice is to get it serviced by Darran at Class A. I believe that CB have Holden and Fisher transformers and then they changed with Olive kit.

I haven’t compared olive and chrome 250s so can’t comment.

The 72 HiCap 250 will be a great combination.

2 Likes