"Mullet" in practice.. and source first

Since 2005, I have many experiences with Naim sources, preamps and psu`s that confirm “source first” philosophy to be so important.
I have heard many times what a quality source can do to the signal/ music, but what if the speakers cannot handle to present it properly? Based on that, I claim the importance of a balanced system.

When it comes to “mullet” systems, I have no such practical experience. Mullet is for me something that I read about. Secondly, there are camps that claim the opposite, that one should spend most of their budget on the speakers.

If I look at the value of my system (electronics) and purchased speakers at the same cost (or far above as some claim it should be), they would be very expensive ones.
Anyone out there with experiences that confirm, in practice what is the truth?

Well, to be honest, I have heard my Harbeths with both the Atom and 282/250 etc and the difference is huge to be fair. Both do music, but in very different ways, but to me this is another discussion.

Stover

I’m a speaker first man yes the source is very important but better speakers will get more from that source. Finding speakers that work for you is the hardest job so buy the best ones you can afford and work backwards.

1 Like

You can adopt a very objective approach when it comes to the black boxes. Spend more and you will undoubtedly hear improvements in sound quality through the same pair of speakers. To me that’s very simple and easy to demonstrate in any listening room and supports the source first phrase.

With speakers, a world of ifs and maybes opens its doors to you! These boxes are the output of the stereo and have a physical interaction with the dynamics of the room into which they are placed. What can sound great in a dealer’s room can sound far from optimal in other rooms.