My Nac202 cuts out and goes into mute sometimes when I touch the volume control

Afternoon, I’m new to Naim and I have a strange thing happening with my Naim Nac202. (Just bought 2nd hand) Sometimes there’s a small static shock and the pre-amp cuts out and goes into mute when I touch the volume control. Thoughts, help and advice welcome. Cheers Jason.

This happens when you get a static shock touching the NAC202?

Does it happen if you ground yourself first?

Naim is earthed through the mains so any high static charge from say a dry atmosphere snd static inducing carpet will result in your body charge being discharged through the Naim system. Could it be this?

It could be enough to briefly scramble the logic control although I’ve not across it causing sound to cut.

What is powering your 202…?

1 Like

Yes, what else is in the system?

Thanks for responding
The 202 is part powered by a NAPSC and a NAP 200. Going into the 202 is a Denefrips Aries II DAC and my rega turntable via a Trichord Dino phone stage powered by a Dino+ Never Connected PSU. The Naims were new to me from Friday. (2nd hand). There’s hum from the NAP and hiss from the speakers. So I’m currently ‘ok this needs looking at’. The Mute engaging doesn’t always happen; just when the static build up does its thing. When it does happen the mute button illuminates

Jason

Does the mains cable have a plug on it you can open? If so I would just check that the earth wire is connected OK. If it is and if you can check continuity with the earth connection to the other end to see it is all OK.

Otherwise, it may be your NAC202 doesn’t like you. :grinning:

Are either of the DAC or the Never connected PSU earthed via the mains?

Does it happen if you have no source connected to the Naim set?

1 Like

Hi R.