Naim 272 upgrade next step

I am relatively new to Naim gear having had a CA 851N/Rega TT/Elex-R front end until last year…always hoped to move to a Naim based system and the sequence began with first a 272/Parasound A23+ combo. Next Harbeth SH5PlusXD speakers then TP XPS then swapped out for XPS DR…needless to say huge improvements in all respects. Now contemplating the best next steps to further improve my system. How major an impact would replacing the Parasound with a 200/250 power amp be? Does DR vs non DR make a huge difference here? Especially interested in experience with Harbeth and Naim amps…

A 272 with a 250DR is an excellent system. Currently, there are bargains to be had on the 250DR due to the New classic range. Another upgrade to consider would be a power supply for the 272, it makes a much bigger difference than you would expect.

5 Likes

I agree. Had that system for several years (with XPSDR). If budget allows you to add a power supply at some point, that would be the icing on the cake.

Roger

3 Likes

Thank you both for your comments:)…from what you are saying, if I understand correctly the change to the 250 DR power amp would like make more overall impact than trading up from my XPS DR PS to the 555PS so often mentioned in other discussions on the 272.

Correct?

That’s a Yes from me.

1 Like

272/250DR with an XPSDR was a bit of a sweet spot in naim’s old range. Really enjoyable combo, great value for money.

Enjoyed ours for 18 months.

At current used prices one could build this 3 box combo with fairly young boxes for 5k ish. For the price, if you can live with the old streaming tech, it would be hard to beat.

2 Likes

Apart from no easy access to Qobuz, I am not sure that 272/250 misses much in functionality and the sound quality should be excellent.

3 Likes