Naim and Harbeth pairings: describe the results

I own a Naim Nova paired with Harbeth SlH5-XD speakers on Tontrager stands located in a 49 sq meter living room (lounge?) with open kitchen along back wall. The room has a large rug and upholstyer furniture. with canvas artworks throughout. This is the only amplifier I have used with the Harbeths which replaced Quad ESL 63’s).

Generally, I listen to Tidal streaming and a ripped 1500 cd collection, with a soon to set up Transrotor turntable. I generally like the Naim Harbeth sound though it errs to the warm side of neutrality. I am an amateur drummer playing jazz combos and big band and that music is more vibrant and not as warm, mellow sounding. I also attend a lot of orchestra and chamber music and some pop/rock concerts with the same observations.

Does your combination also sound on the warm side of neutral? How does it vary from live acoustic music that you hear?

I’ve owned several Harbeth speakers with my NAIM electronics. In terms of “warmth”, my experience was C7>P3>M30. This was quite noticeable and my M30s could be described as “bright”. I’m guessing the SHL5s are closer to the C7s than the other two.

I owned the Harbeth SHL5 and SHL5+ for a decade. To me, the Harbeth is on the warm side of neutral. It sounds excessively warm and laid back with 7 amp combinations and the dynamic presentation of the Naim did it for me. I am not sure about your Nova but I lived with the 202/200 and SHL5 for 7 years before upgrading to the 282/250DR and SHL5+. The 282/250DR supercharged the SHL5+ and brought a livelier and more dynamic presentation. Percussion sounds snappier and more realistic on the Harbeth if forward and dynamic amps are used. There are users who reported a massive improvement with their SHL5+ when the 250DR was replaced with a 300DR. I didn’t manage to get to that level though.