Naim App on Amazon Fire Tablets

Hi all, first post (well on this new forum anyway!)

Just a quick question. Can I sideload the Naim app on to a fire tablet? Or even better get it through amazon? Does it work properly? Will it get updates or will I have to manually update it each time?

Thanks

Dave

I think the answer is simply no.

Maybe if you can run an android emulator on the Fire tablet you could use the Naim app for Android, but I have no knowledge of whether such an emulator exists.

Best

David

FireOS is an Android fork, so it’s possible that a side-loaded Naim app would work. You may well be the first person to try, I haven’t seen anyone here mention doing it.

Yes you can install it.

I run it on my 8 inch fire tablet, it works perfectly.

I went the whole hog and installed the Google Play store etc. There are some guides on the web as to how to do it.

3 Likes

@trickydickie
That’s useful to know thanks. I’m looking to replace an old Android tablet and the 10" Fire seems reasonable value. Do you find the Amazon take on Android as intrusive as some reviewers say it is?

It does intrude a bit as Amazon are using it to push their services.

The home screen gets stuff come up that you have to hide and you only have one page of icons but it’s not too bad as you can group into folders like you can on most Android devices.

I got ours on a Black Friday deal and cost peanuts. It’s only used as a secondary tablet in the bedroom for controlling a Muso QB and for a bit of surfing etc.

I bought the 8" Amazon Fire tablet but ended up sending it back because while the app works and runs fine mine didn’t give me the A-Z list down the right hand side which enables easy and rapid access to a large music library on my NAS. I also found the interface slightly less intuitive than the work ipad I had used before. In the end I decided to spend the extra £100 for a secondhand but mint ipad Air 2 (£191).