Naim CD Player options and Upgrades

Hello from New York. It’s time once again to entertain myself on my newish Naim adventure with hopefully affordable additions after completing all my jig saws in self isolation :slight_smile:

So here is my system to date (obviously all 115V except the Oppo which is dual):

Naim Nait XS

Oppo 105

Rega Planar 6

Focal Aria 926

Naim Fraim.

In Ireland where I will be moving hopefully this year when all this craziness is over, I have, new 220V:

NAP 250DR

NAC-N 272

Although, I have some experience with the XS (selling before leaving New York), I a novice when it comes to directions and upgrades in the Naim field.

Basically, with somewhat limited funds. I would love to hear yer opinions on where to go next?

Should I keep the Oppo or get a Naim CD player. If so what do ye like? It appears possible to find some older models at a decent prices on the secondhand market or should I simply hold on to get the CD5si.

Also, I have never heard the XPS with the 272, it’s a lot of money and wondering if it is even worth the cost or could I spent my money in better places. Additionally, I rarely see any on the secondhand market.

A side note: Although, Naim equipment is almost twice the price here, one can occasionally find a decent deal and then I can convert it to 220.

If ye were me what would ye focus on, knowing that I will have 250/272/Rega/Focal 926/Fraim and optional Oppo 105 if needed, when I return home?

Thanks and hope all is well wherever ye are.

Hi, I would get that XPS when you move. To my ears it really transforms the 272. On this side of the Atlantic you should find it much easier to find used Naim gear.

1 Like

Thanks Chris. I will look more into it.