Naim Design Philosophy - Classic Line - Upgrade Path

Hey All,

I have been using a 172/200 for about 4 years. Despite my ownership, I have been confused and aggravated in trying to choose a path forward. I didn’t really understand Naim’s philosophy terribly well. I’ve just happened upon these 2 videos, and now I get it. Now the lights are on. I am sharing here for others that will surely come asking “how does this stuff work?” These videos explain much of the classic line, including the mysterious Core. I got a lot more from watching these 2 videos than I have from pouring through forums threads and reading the Naim manuals. Not I’m bashing any of those sources, but you know how it goes; a picture is worth a thousand words.

Hopefully this post will help others in the future. I know these things have been covered on the forum extensively, but still, visual aids can be great.

5 Likes

Hey Folks, I have a follow up to the content and philosophy explained in the clips above. Especially around power. If isolating the power supply has such benefit both in sound and in the ability to offer multiple upgrades, why don’t we see this from other shops? What Naim says about this topic makes sense to me as a layman and I don’t doubt that it’s true. Assuming the effects are easily demonstrated, why do 90% or more of audio components have integrated power supplies with no ability to isolate or upgrade? Another thing I have to assume is true is that other shops are making gear that sounds just as good as Naim (although different sounding), and they’re doing it with integrated PSUs.

Do we hear other shops extolling the virtues of isolating power, and placing the PSUs on rack A and the other circuits on a different rack B?

How do other shops handle the noise and interference of their internal PSUs? Can this be done, or do they just ignore it? That can’t be? Can it?