Naim Muso 1st gen in nursing home

Hi folks my name is John,

I am a severely disabled retired guy living in a nursing home. I currently run a Naim Muso 1st gen from my iPod touch 7 via a usb lead. This is because the home’s wifi will connect to my iPod 7 touch but not to the Muso or the Naim App.

The music service I use is Qobuz studio (cd quality), which tells me I am streaming and downloading at 16bit 44hz and also sending to the Muso at the same rate; though I have no way to verify this.

Because it is too complicated to set up my own wifi in my room, I wondered if I might get a substantial improvement by replacing my iPod touch 7, with a dedicated hi res audio player with built-in wifi and connecting to the Muso via the usb lead?

Thank you all for your patience and understanding. I am new to all this. Since using CDs, I have only ever streamed at 330kbz mp3 or Bluetooth. My current system far exceeds both but music is so important to me, I would like to improve it further if possible.

Any constructive comments gratefully received. Thanks all.

2 Likes

Hi John you can only use the USB port as an input from ipods and possible iPad or phone but not from anything else as it’s not using USB audio class for that port so streamers that runfrom USB would not work. You would need to use either the optical port in or its analogue port.

But with any streamer you going to need to have a network connection to use them as most rely on apps to run them. So your WiFi issue will cause some issues. Not many operate without this these days.

Hello John and welcome.
Your Muso 1st Gen does not natively support Qobuz IIRC.
Your best bet will be to use the Qobuz app on your Ipod and Airplay to the Muso.
As you only have CD and not a HiRes subscription, I think this should be fine.