Naim newbie! Mu-so 2

Hi all,

New Mu-So 2 owner here. Fair to say I love it.

Just a couple of n00b questions to the community if you don’t mind:

• I am multi-input user of the system (i am a budding electronic music producer) - when I use analogue (3.5mm with external DAC) & say Spotify there is a definite difference in volume level (analogue is lower) and it ‘feels’ like there is some processing going on in the background. Can anyone expand in that or I am doing something wrong? I caught the input trim section on the app last night. Still doesn’t feel quite right with vol.
  • Is there a recommended run-in period for the system, or is ‘straight out of the box’?
  • Any recommendations on a 3.5mm cable with the right capacitance, resistance and inductance for the system?
  • I am using a Meridian Explorer 2 from the laptop into the system - i am little unsure whether that is achieving anything if there is processing going on within the Mu-So. Is my assumption that I might be over-processing, correct?

Hope you can help and it is a brilliant system!

Kind regards,
LiveStep

I use the analogue input for a Rega P1. The volume needs turning up higher than with Qobuz or UPnP - this may be down to the Rega phono stage too.

Analogue inputs are digitised.

I guess it is down to the phono stage. When I upgraded to the Rega Aria the volume difference between the analog and digital sources on my Star pretty much disappeared.

1 Like

That’s a DAC; correct? You will benefit of course from better output - but, as you state, less so than when sending the signal to an “analog amplifier”, since the analog input is analog-to-digital processed before converted back to analog.

So you might get better result, when sending a digital SPDIF signal from laptop to the Mu-so 2, if that input is still free on the Mu-so. (I don’t know, how the DACs compare; but having just 1 in the chain should be better than having 2.)