Naim olive pre and power

Hello, I am literally a complete newbie on this or any forum, some years ago I had a 62/90 with a marantz cd85 front end, due to family circumstances I had to sell the outfit, I have recently retired and would like to rebuild a set up out of olive series, no front end as of yet and speakers probably pmc gb1i, I am unsure as to what to buy a 72 or 102 and a 140 or 180, hicap to follow, I have a small living room hence the pmc speakers that are not fussy about placement, I don’t listen at loud volumes, any help would be appreciated, regards Neil.

Welcome aboard Neil. It’s a simple choice really. If you’re a pipe and slippers kinda guy then the 72/180 is the pairing for you. Otherwise, grab a 102/140, get them serviced, and never read anything else here ever again :blush:

5 Likes

If you like a bit more detail, go for the 102. If you like a bit more musicality (whatever that is) go for the 72. Make sure they get serviced and you get a brilliant system for which you can spend your last penny on expensive source upgrades.

2 Likes

72/140 is a dream team, punches way out of its league but probably not ideal if your a Bing Crosby fan. If I had a second system they would be in it without doubt

2 Likes

Hi, I’ve just binned the pipe and slippers, I noticed that mr tibbs doesn’t pair the 102/180 combo, I have wide admittedly not that up to date collection from fleetwood mac to rag n bone man, throw in a bit of paloma faith and my disc which I demo kit would beTracey chapman and acoustic alchemy, does this help or shall I retrieve the pipe and slippers, thanks again Neil.